Chips for Supper

Avoiding the greatest thing on earth — chips for supper

Grossroommate vol. 4

7 Comments

This has been a wonderful 2.5 weeks. Grossroommate has been on vacation to Malaysia so I got to walk around the house nekkid without worry of bumping into her.

I was making strawberry lemonade tonight and I lamented about how much counter space there is.

There are tons of jars of soy sauces and spices and  I don’t know what. She also boils water and then keeps it on the counter for drinking. I don’t know what’s wrong with tap water.

    

One day last week, when I opened the fridge door, the railing of the door shelf gave way and a jar fell down and broke the glass shelf above the crisper.  So I needed to clean all the glass out, and I found out that grossroommate had left mangoes and sweet potatoes in the crisper even though she knew she would be gone for 2.5 weeks. So I decided to investigate what else was in the fridge.  There are notices all over the fridge that I’m pretty sure she doesn’t even read.

So let’s see what happens when the fridge opens.

Clearly, all my food is on the left and hers is on the right. Notice the lack of shelf above the crisper. So now we’re reduced to three shelves from four.

The middle shelf on the left is where the railing gave way. There is a small crack in the plastic near the connection that still sometimes releases the railing when you open the door, although no threat of a crash from the jars anymore since I moved them to the main shelves.

These three things have been on the top shelf of the door since I moved in.  I don’t even think she knows that they’re there.

And yes, that prescription is over 4 years old.  I have no idea why she is keeping it.

Enough about the door. Let’s look inside the main part of the fridge.

The jar on the left is the culprit who crashed onto the shelf! Bad jar!!!  But what is behind the jam?

Really? Tim Horton’s soup.  Panago dipping sauce?  Did she know she was going to be gone for 2.5 weeks? Although, I’m sure that they were there for awhile before she even left.  I don’t even want to open that soup. But, I swear there was something else there when I looked up from the bottom.

And a sideways container of soy sauce? Just awesome.

Wait! I thought I saw something behind my jug of milk!

I don’t know what’s all in there but a lot of her stuff seems to creep on my side of the fridge.

And…. it’s a bottle of water with one inch of water!  Wow!  What’s even the point of keeping that in the fridge?

As if the top shelf wasn’t enough, there are still two more shelves.

Grossroommate tends to get a lot of chinese take-out noodles or meat that she then mixes with rice from the rice cooker and bok choy that she fries in the wok.  She used to burn rice on the stove and then soak the pot in the sink with all the rice still in it.  All that rice in the sink made the sink disgusting. (On a side note, what kind of Asian doesn’t know how to make rice?  Stereotype, but most other Asians I know don’t burn rice.) Now she uses a rice cooker. But I’m scared of what’s in that blue bag?  Remember, she went on vacation for 2.5 weeks.

Noodles. Of course.  And they’re not green with mold? Must have been a lot of sauce and/or oil in them.

And a container of rice.  I wouldn’t want to eat either of those when I came back from vacation.

Um… these eggs expired even before she left! I don’t want to be there when she cracks one open. It would probably be worse than the durian that she eats!

Now this! This was absolutely disgusting.  I don’t even know what it could have been. But looking through the bag and through the lid, the inside is absolutely black with mold.  There is even some seepage out of the top of the bag. She probably doesn’t even know she has this!

The very last thing that I found in the fridge was a styrofoam container. I opened it up and found these 4 egg-shaped things. Are these rotten eggs? Are they 100 year-old eggs?  Does anyone know what these are?

Grossroommate is coming home today.   She’ll probably have to go out and buy some food. I don’t know where she’s going to put it until we get some sort of fourth shelf.  But now I can no longer walk around naked everywhere when she’s home.  I hope that she’s going back to work tomorrow instead of waiting until next week.  But if she is going to be home, I hope she cleans out the fridge.

Previous posts

7 thoughts on “Grossroommate vol. 4

  1. Ew… I can’t say that I’ve never forgotten about food in the fridge past its expiration date, but not a whole bunch of things at once! And I was more careful when I had roommates, and definitely when I know I’m going to be out of town! I hope she cleans it up soon!

    • I don’t even know where she is right now. Her flight was supposed to land this morning, but she hasn’t been home yet. Would you really want to go out after a flight from Asia? Oh well.

  2. I think I would have declared myself the fridge police, cleaned it out and dealt with her later — she probably wouldn’t have noticed!

    • She did throw out a few of the things that were in there — but I think the disgusting, leaking black thing is still there. I’ll have to check again. But as long as it’s not affecting my food I’ll leave it alone.

  3. I think the leaking black thing is oyster sauce 🙂 It’s good! But not so good when the jar’s leaking, I suppose. Especially on Chinese broccoli aka “gai lan” that you get at dim sum.

  4. Pingback: Grossroommate vol. 5 « Chips for Supper

Leave a Reply

