Chips for Supper

Avoiding the greatest thing on earth — chips for supper

Eat! Vancouver

4 Comments

Each year, I like going to the Eat! festival in Vancouver.  This year it took place at the new Convention Centre.


In the entrance of the Convention Centre, there is a giant rotating Earth.

When I walked in, there are TV screens on the wall showing what conventions are there at the time. And this one caught my eye. Because it’s almost the same spelling of my last name! So strange!


And the escalator down to the festival is really long and tall.

   

When you walk in, you are greeted with rows upon rows of vendors, most with delicious samples!


Every year there is a cheese seminar which would be very interesting, but I have not yet gone to it! I should do that next year.

At the festival this year, there was a culinary competition with chefs from all over the country to show their wares.  There were 8 tables and you could buy your seat at table for $100.  Every dinner and setting was really fancy and there were wine pairings for every course — fine dining!!!

                                

It seems odd to see Canucks Jerseys at a fine dining event, but it is Vancouver and it is the playoffs.


Since the festival knew that the hockey game was on, they set up one of their stages to play the game!

Tons of people watching the game. It was a great atmosphere!


One of the stages featured contestants from Top Chef Canada.  Here you might recognize Connie DeSousa.

    

Look what she did to a pig head!

    

And the celebrity chef that I was excited to see was Graham Kerr! I remember watching his cooking shows when I was younger.  I even remember that butler table that he used at the end of every show.

And now for the swag:


I got a bunch of coupons that I may or may not be able to use.


I also got all these samples and I’m looking forward to trying them. I also ate tons of samples that were not packaged — chocolates, yogurts, meats, cheeses, beer (from a super attractive man!), other beverages, all sorts of things!


I bought this jar of cinnamon honey for $5.  I really like their honey and bought some mint honey from them last year. So delicious!

And this is interesting! This is a popsicle maker that freezes the popsicles in about 5 minutes!  All you need is juice so you can control exactly what goes in your popsicles.  I’m looking forward to using this in the summer and I’ll let you know how it goes.  (I got the package on the right for free after I was wavering towards buying this. So I got this whole thing for $70 instead of the regular $85. There was also a storage container for after the popsicles are made but I didn’t get that).

I always enjoy myself at this festival.  This year, though, I didn’t buy any tickets to sample the alcohol or the restaurants.  There was enough to see and do without trying those out.

4 thoughts on “Eat! Vancouver

  1. Cannot WAIT to hear how that popsicle maker works for you.

    I am still so bummed I missed it. 😦

  2. Pingback: The Canucks Win! (and the city breaks my heart) « Chips for Supper

  3. Pingback: Zoku popsicles « Chips for Supper

Leave a Reply

