Chips for Supper

Avoiding the greatest thing on earth — chips for supper

Zoku popsicles

4 Comments

Remember when I went to the Eat! Festival back in the beginning of June? I ended up buying a Zoku popsicle maker.  And so far, it is $70 well invested! I’ve had a bunch of batches of simple-ish popsicles made. Fudgesicle.  Fudgesicle with banana slices.  Peach with peach slices. Strawberry-banana creamsicle with banana slices.

But since I promised you all that I would post some recipes and pictures of the popsicle maker (and there were some sales on the ingredients!) I decided to fancy it up a little bit.

So first, here is everything that I used:


Yop! yogurt drink — raspberry flavor.  Fresh raspberries. Chocolate sprinkles (hagelslag for all you Dutch folk).


Make sure the Zoku maker is completely frozen solid to do this, or the popsicles won’t slide out.  They say you can make up to 3 batches before you need to throw it back on the freezer.  Yes — that means that it doesn’t have to actually be IN the freezer during the popsicle-making!

Make sure you insert the sticks before you add any liquid, or you will have trouble inserting them as the liquid freezes almost instantaneously.  First, I poured a layer of the yogurt drink. Then I put some sprinkles on top and another layer of drink.  Then a few fresh raspberries and topped up the mold with the rest of the yogurt.

As you can see, I wasn’t too careful when I crammed the raspberries in and got some on the top. But they should flick off when they’re completely frozen.

And now comes the waiting game.  I had to wait hours just 7 minutes until these popsicles were completely frozen and able to be pulled out.  Use the very handy popsicle removal tool to loosen the popsicles from the mold. This screws onto the top of the sticks and forces the popsicles out by torque.

Look at these! They’re gorgeous! I can’t wait to try them eat them all.

As you can see, the Zoku is a fantastic invention.  I can have any flavour of popsicle I want in just a few minutes and don’t have to worry about too many calories since I know exactly what is in them.  Since I bought this, I haven’t bought any ice cream, and I don’t plan on it!

 

4 thoughts on “Zoku popsicles

  1. This is maybe the coolest thing I’ve ever seen! It’s totally putting my Dollarama Popsicle molds to shame.

    • Yeah it’s really great! Growing up I always had those cheap plastic popsicle makers, and while the only recipe we had was great, we were stuck with one flavor for awhile. And now, I can have any flavor I want, without adding sugar, in just a matter of minutes!

Leave a Reply

